GIV is led by staff and volunteers who are passionate about education and educational equity.

Our board represents the communities we serve with dedication to our shared mission.

Board of Trustees

Marlene Allen

Rutland, VT

Gwen Bailey-Rowe**

Derby, VT

Nan Bambara* – Vice Chair

Dorset, VT

Sue Bentlage**

Essex Junction, VT

Jane Campbell**

Morrisville, VT

Fran Clougherty** – Chair

South Burlington, VT

Ross Gibson

Brattleboro, VT

Marilyn Grunewald**

Swanton, VT

John Hango** – Treasurer

Enosburg Falls, VT

Gary Marini

Brandon, VT

Keith Marks

Putney, VT

Dan Mullen

Richmond, VT


White River Junction, VT

Sophia Rabe*

Williston, VT

Weiwei Wang

Burlington, VT

Erin Wetherell – Secretary

Thetford, VT
* GIV alum or Governor's School graduate
** Parent of GIV alum
GIV Board of Trustees

Interested in joining the GIV Board of Trustees?

If you’re interested in supporting young people from all over the State, apply now to join the Board of Trustees at GIV! 

The Governor’s Institutes helps Vermont create productive, empowered, and engaged young adults by reaching out to diverse learners with high-impact, world-class learning opportunities that stimulate their personal growth and expand their aspirations, perspectives, and career horizons.

Apply now with our online application at

Staff Team

Elizabeth Frascoia

Executive Director (and Alum!)

Tamira Martel

Development Director

Mike Leach

Operations Manager

Gaia Uman Borrero

Operations Coordinator

Matthew Binginot

Outreach & Communications Manager

Ross Johnston

Programs & Alumni Coordinator


GIV Spokescat
GIV Team

The GIV HQ Team

Institute Directors

Corey Harrower

Arts Institute Director

Mike Cross

Engineering Institute Director

Tamie-Jo Dickinson

Entrepreneurship Institute Director

Christine Massey

Environmental Science Institute Director

Emilie Kornheiser

Global Issues & Youth Action Institute Director

Dr. Nicole LaPointe

Health & Medicine Northern Institute Director

Dr. Jennifer Scott

Health & Medicine Southern Institute Director

Linda Segovia Wise

Mathematical Sciences Institute Director

Shannon Walters

Technology & Design Institute Co-Director

Robin Perlah

Technology & Design Institute Co-Director

Previous Alumni Council Members

Daniel Graves

Alumnus of Engineering, Mathematical Sciences, Environmental Science, Youth Leadership Winter Weekend, and Space Mission Design Winter Weekend

Gloria Kigonya

Alumnus of Current Issues & Youth Activism Institute

Hussein Amuri

Alumnus of Current Issues & Youth Activism Institute

Michael Fernandez

Alumnus of Global Issues & Youth Action Immersion and Entreprenuership Immsersion

Kiran Bleakney-Eastman

Alumnus of Current Issues & Youth Activism Institute

Jamie Atchinson

Alumnus of Arts Institute and Advanced Leadership Immersion

Una Fonte

Alumnus of Current Issues & Youth Activism Institute and Entrepreneurship Winter Weekend